Get rid of “Stinkin’ Thinkin'”

We all have them. Thoughts. Some are good, some are bad. Some help us in life, some pull us down and keep us down.

The good news is that you can break the chains of bondage that “stinkin’ thinkin'” has bound you in. We are the products of our thoughts. As has been said “As a man thinks in his heart, so is he.”

It can take time to change negative thinking. After all, it’s probably been the way you have thought most of your life. And you have come to believe those thoughts about yourself.

“I will never succeed at anything.”

“I will never lose weight, so what’s the use of exercising and dieting.”

“I wish I was more attractive. I’m ugly.”

“There’s no point trying, I’ll just fail. Like I always do.”

Any of those thoughts sound familiar? I know they do to me because I have thought them. And if I have, I am preeeetttyyy sure that you may of too.

Guess, what? I grew up being told that I am useless, that I would never amount to anything. I would be constantly bullied at school and laughed at.  Anything I wished to do I was told not to waste my time. All that had only resulted in one thing:

Negative thinking, negative self-esteem, and a negative self-image.

 It’s interesting that “negative thinking” was first! (By the way, that wasn’t intentional, as I wrote this,  I had a look and I thought, hang on “negative thinking” is listed first!). My subconscious is smarter than me! Why? Because it listed “negative thinking” first! From this all the other things eventuate: low self-esteem. negative self-image, lack of self-confidence, shyness, fear of failure, and all the other negatives.

I was shy, had no confidence in myself, would think other people would laugh at me. I would try something once, fail, and then say to myself “You’re useless.”

But then I one day I made a decision to change. And if I can do it, you can too! I’m no different than you. I’m still a human being that makes mistakes. The change came by understanding that I am a product of my thoughts. As we think, we act. (It’s as simple as that!)

I started off slowly with some positive affirmations. I have to admit I felt pretty ridiculous telling myself that I can succeed (my mind was battling and saying that it was a lie). But I kept going. I would find affirmations that would challenge my low self-esteem, my lack of confidence and all the other negatives in my life.

So now I was replacing my negative thoughts with positive thoughts. Whenever “stinkin’ thinkin’ ” would creep in, I would uproot that noxious weed and replace it with the sweet fragrance of a positive affirmation.

The next step is to act. Act as though you believe what you are affirming (after all you have been acting in line with your negative thoughts!). Step out and do something that is in line with the positive affirmation. It doesn’t have to be something big, just something that will reinforce the positive thought.

For me in an effort to overcome my shyness, I began to say “Hi” to people I didn’t know. It was a small thing to do, but it was a BIG step forward. Now I can get up and speak in front of groups of people and it doesn’t bother me. That’s just a wee personal success story to help you!

IF I CAN DO IT, SO CAN YOU!!!

Guess what? You’re nagative thinking has got you where you are today. Want a  change in your life? Want to achieve your goals and dreams? Want to become a better person? YOU CAN!! Just replace your negative thoughts with positive ones!! YOU CAN DO IT!!

Here is an equation I want you to remember:

Change the way you think + change the way you act = a change in your life

Always remember: thinking precedes acting. Think positively, act positively and the rest will take care of itself.

Here’s a couple of websites to help you find positive affrimations:

http://www.prolificliving.com/blog/2012/08/27/100-positive-affirmations/

http://www.affirmations-for-radical-success.com/list-of-positive-affirmations.html

http://www.vitalaffirmations.com/

Go get yourself a better life. You deserve it!

Leave a Reply

