Show your Old Behaviour something new…the door!

This evening I was sitting in my favourite chair, the cat on my lap. And I thought. I really should get up and exercise.

I had bought myself an Xbox last year and one of the games I got was “Zumba” to help me lose weight. (I’m not fat or anything, I just felt like  I could lose a few pounds). I would sporadically put on “Zumba” and have a work out. But then some days I would either be too tired or too lazy. Or to be honest with you, I just couldn’t be bothered!! Months would pass by and then I would go,,, “Oh, I need to do some Zumba!”

You know what kind of result I got from that kind of behaviour? That’s right! Not much.

So on New Years Eve 2012, I made a list of goals for 2013. One of them was to be focused on my fitness. As I mentioned at the beginning of this post, there I am sitting there, comfortable, with the cat on my lap. I thought “I really need to get up and do a workout” and then another voice says “It’s okay if you sit here. You can always do it tomorrow.”

I recognised that voice!! It was the voice of the old behaviour whispering. A voice I was familiar with last year. But listening to that voice got me nowhere. And that is the point.

How many times have we decided that we want to do something: start a new project, start on that book that you have been meaning to write, go for that walk to help you exercise, or whatever else you have determined within yourself to do. Yet there is that voice that whispers “You can always do it later”, “Watch TV for another 30 minutes.” ,”You can always start your exercise tomorrow”.

That voice is familiar because you have listened to it for so long, It’s a comforting voice because it keeps you where you are. What has been the result of obeying that voice? Simply, that you are where you are at today because you have obeyed it. It has caused you to be a creature of habit, always making excuses as to why you haven’t done those things that you have desired to do in your life.

It’s time you stopped listening to that voice! Get your old behaviours and “show them the door!”

With my Zumba work out, I had to force myself to do it. The old behaviour of making an excuse still lingered. Did I feel like getting up out of my comfy chair? No! But I knew I had to do it!

And that is the attitude you need too! Tell the old behaviours you have had enough! Say it out loud if you have to. Gather them up and shove them out the door like the uninvited guests that they are. After all, you are battling for you future.

The reason you are so comfortable with those behaviours is because you’ve done them for so long that they have habitual. It will take a determined, conscious effort on your part to turn things around. But guess what? It has been said that if you do something consistently for 30 days it becomes a habit. Now the old behaviour has been replaced with a new, postive, and productive behaviour!

I just want to ask you again. Where have your current behaviours and habits got you? That’s correct! They have got you where you are today.

Are you satisfied with where you are in life? If you are, good on you! 🙂 If not, then it’s time to change a few things. 

The sporadic, half-hearted approach that I took to my fitness last year produced little result. It’s the same with anything you try. If you do it half-heartedly, only “every now and then”, then don’t expect to reap any outstanding results. In fact it might even de-motivate you, because you do something half-heartedly expecting awesome results. You find that those results you do acheive are less than spectacular so you give up and wonder why you even tried in the first place. 

To get outstanding results requires an outstanding effort. You have to be consistent. Fight back against your old behaviours. Tell them they are not welcome any more. Make a determined effort against them and watch the results. You’ll be amazed!

Gor for it!!!

 

Leave a Reply

