My self-imposed 21-Day challenge! DAY 3

Okay. So it’s Day 3 of my challenge. How did I go on the third day?

Well, let’s put it this way. The band has moved from my left wrist to my right wrist. Yep, that only means one thing. I complained! It wasn’t a big complaint. I even try to argue the point that it wasn’t a complaint! That’s the thing, how willing are we to admit when we have failed? We try to justify our behaviour. We make excuses. We kick and scream. Yet all we need to do is be honest and admit we goofed up!

All day I felt the frustrations of the day building up, the afternoon was even worse! It was like one thing after another. Then, I opened my mouth and out it slipped. A complaint! The critter seemed to be waiting for me to open my mouth and then it escaped! It got me when I was at my weakest, most vulnerable point! I was frustrated and tired. Then out it popped!!

I was devastated! 3 days of constant watching. 3 days of continual vigilance, undone in one moment of weakness.

To be honest with you all, trying not to complain is one of the hardest things anyone can do! It takes effort and constant awareness. It takes thinking of ways to re-channel the negative energies that slowly mount up.

Do I feel like I have failed. Kind of. But then I reminded myself that I am only human, not super-human. Am I still committed to the 21-day challenge? You betcha! I’m not going to allow one small failure stop me from trying to reach such an admirable goal. It is an admiral goal for anyone to try and reduce/eliminate the negativity that pours out of our mouths. Such words are poison. They poison, not only your soul, but the environment and people!

So, even though I have “dropped the ball”, I forget about what has been. I can’t go back and undo what has been done. All I can do is look forward to the next 19 days and try again! Bring on Day 4!

One thought on “My self-imposed 21-Day challenge! DAY 3

Leave a Reply

