My self-imposed 21-Day challenge! DAY 8

Hi folks! Welcome to Day 8! And what a day it has been….

First of all I forgot to put my “reminder” strip on this morning. But that was okay, I know that it was on my right wrist. Been there since my faux pas on Saturday. Hopefully it will stay on my right wrist for the remainder of the challenge. Why? Because that means one thing. I have not complained!!

Today was such a challenge! I dunno what it was about today. Maybe it was the Vernal Equinox, or perhaps the Earth’s magnetic fields were temporarily displaced for a majority of the day. What ever it was, I could not believe the negativity that was surrounding me today!

Honestly, wherever I turned it was there staring at me, people moaning, people stressing. I felt myself being slowly sucked in to this “black hole” of negativity. I resisted, I fought, I walked away! I had to do whatever I could in order not to be sucked into the “black hole” from which nothing escapes!

I have to admit at one point I was frustrated and I made a comment. Was it a complaint? I freaked out! Maybe it was! But, no, it was just an observation that I snidely made on because I was irritated.

How do I know if I am complaining or not when I make comments and “observations”? I have been told it is the tone with which you speak. But I think it is more than that. It is the way you communicate your viewpoint. There is such a thing as “constructive” criticism. Instead of moaning about something, why don’t you try and put across what you are thinking in a more helpful way?

If you feel like you can’t do that, then it is easier just to say nothing, walk away from the situation and take a whole lot of deep breaths. That is what I did today. How many times did I do it? Quite a few!!

It honestly is hard to not been dragged into the quagmire of negativity and resentment when everyone else is in there. But the secret is to allow them to be in that quagmire, while you wander off and seek a place of solitude and peace. Just because everyone else is having a bad day does not mean you have to join in. All you have to do is decide!

Day 9 tomorrow and I look forward to seeing what I can learn from my “anti-complaining” quest!

 

 

Leave a Reply

