Stop! Listen to the silence!

Hey folks!

It’s been a couple of days since my last post. (OMG! Does that sound like a confession?) I had a wee Easter break!

Today I was sitting on my back door step , having some lunch and listening to the sounds of nature. It was such a joy! Then I wondered, how often do we take the time to actually stop and enjoy the sound of silence?

We have the radio blaring away, the television on. We have become accustomed to having “background noise” to keep us company. But I challenge you to turn off the radio! Switch off the television! Go outside and just sit for a while.

What do you hear? What can you smell? What do you see? I do that as often as I can. Today it was like some switch had been flicked to on! I realised that I am experiencing life, that I am appreciating all the nuances of creation! The sounds of the birds, the buzzing of the insects, the dance of the butterfly that fluttered past me!

Too many times we are caught up in the “noise” of our lives. Our mind is constantly thinking about what we have done or it’s too busy worrying about the future. The result is that we are robbed of the enjoyment of “now”.

So I thought, this week I would present you all with a challenge. Try and do this daily. Just take time out to stop and listen to the world around you. Listen to the birds, the sound of the wind in the trees, the insects buzzing. Just watch the way the trees nod and dance in the soft breeze.What else can you see? What else can you hear? Can you smell the subtle smells of the flowers around you?  In other words, take time out and allow the peace of nature flood your soul. You’ll find the stress and the cares of the world melt away!

So from now on…stop! Listen to the silence of nature. Allow it to envelope you!

Leave a Reply

