Do it yourself!!

Hey guys!

How many times have we been told to “Do it Yourself!”? Usually it is said to us by people who are lazy, callous, or simply don’t care. But the other week I told myself these exact words.

Several weeks back I started a new fitness regime. A friend of mine has been doing it for months, but I decided that I would join him. All we do is go to the local beach and run up and down a series of stairs that are down there.

When it came to fitness, I usually took a half-hearted approach. Every so often I would do a wee Zumba session on my Xbox. Then a few weeks would go by, then I would crack out the Zumba again. But then I decided to join my friend and attack the stairs!!

One time he said he wouldn’t be able to make the session. I kinda freaked a wee bit. (There was still a tiny bit of shyness lurking in me!). Last time I exercised in public was at school, oh…and the odd time when dogs decide to chase me!

So there I was, having a moment thinking “My friend isn’t going to be there. It is just going to be me! Should I go and do it alone?” A voice in my mind said “YES! Go and do it! Are you motivated only when others are there alongside you, or are you doing it for yourself?” I told myself “I’m doing it for ME!!” So off I went and had my own wee fitness session! It was a good one too!

That brings me to the point of this post. How many times do we commit to do things that are personally beneficial, only when we have others doing it with us? When those people can not make it, do we make excuses as to why we should also miss out? And that is what is happening: YOU are MISSING OUT!!

When you decide to change something in your life, or take on a new project to improve yourself, who are you doing it for? That is the question I asked myself. The answer that  came back was: I’m doing it for ME!

And if you are doing it for you, then DO IT YOURSELF!! That doesn’t mean you can’t join in with others who want to share in the activity, or experience. After all, the more the merrier! But when someone, who has made a commitment, can’t make it, it does not mean you have to make an excuse as to why you can’t do it by yourself! That is a true test of your own motivation and commitment. Just as I found out where I was at when my friend could not make the fitness session.

Instead of being a follower, be a leader! You may surprise yourself at how many people join you and cheer you on!

 

Leave a Reply

