Breathe!!

Hi folks!

Today is time for something practical! Are you excited? I bet you are!!!

Admit it. You have had a day when everything seems to be going wrong! You feel all stressed, your body is tense. You just want to relax. Here is an exercise that you can do that will help remove the tension and even will calm down your racing mind. (It takes about 3-5 minutes)

  • Find somewhere quite where you can be alone.
  • Close your eyes and take a deep breath. Hold it, and then slowly release it. Take another deep breath, hold it and release  it. Keep doing this for the duration of this exercise.
  • Focus on the different parts of your body. Start with your feet, imagine them relaxing, then your calfs, your shins, your upper legs. Both legs together. Imagine them relaxing, feel the tension melt away as you breath in and then breath out. Carry on up your body and then finally focus on your body, as a whole, relaxing. Focus all your attention on your body relaxing. Imagine it is relaxed, limp and quite.
  • Finally end the exercise with several more in breaths and out breaths.

You can do the breathing aspect of this exercise whenever you feel yourself getting stressed or becoming irritated. It also works if you are feeling nervous or anxious. Just focus all your attention on the breath entering in, then focus on the breath leaving your body.

I use this exercise all the time. When I feel myself getting stressed or wound up,  I make a conscious effort to focus on my breathing. Then I can feel myself calming down and my body losing tension.

Give it a go and feel free to leave comments to let me know how it has worked for you. I would love to hear!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

