Inconsistently Consistent

How many times have you started something, but you did it half-heartedly. You had enthusiasm, but then you got busy with something else. The first project is still there and you pay attention to it every now and then, but the enthusiasm you had has waned. You wonder why things aren’t progressing as fast as you would like. It is because you are being inconsistently consistent.  

I have been there so many times and it is frustrating. A couple of years ago I decided that I want to become more fitter. I caught up with a friend who was on his own fitness mission and I made an effort, but after a couple of months things started to slide. I would be too tired (that’s just an excuse for saying “I can’t be bothered”). Then after a few months I would make another effort.  Was I getting enjoyment from getting hot, sweaty and exhausted from working out? No! (I know there are some people out there who love going to the gym!) Then I would start making other excuses…”My knee hurts”, “It’s raining”, “It’s too cold!”

After such a haphazard approach to my fitness, was I getting the results that I wanted? No! Why wasn’t I achieving the result? Simply because I was inconsistent. 

If there is something that you want out of life, then you have to first of all make the decision that you want it. Then you have to consistently go after it. If you stay focused and on track, then  you can achieve whatever goal or dream you want. It takes work, dedication and consistency. 

In my fitness example I found that I had to start again from the beginning because all the gains I achieved had been lost. I felt guilty about it because I had let myself down. Did I beat myself up over it? No. I just started from the beginning and kept at it. Now I do work outs at least 4 times a week. Sure there are times when I still don’t feel like it, but I force myself and then I feel good because I have done it!

You are not going to get anywhere if you just work on a goal every now and then. You will find that the initial enthusiasm that you had has gone and once it has gone it is hard to get back. You will also get frustrated by the lack of progress. 

If you have a dream, goal or desire that you want to pursue, then make a plan of how you are going to bring it to fruition. After you have the plan, then work at it consistently (which may mean working at it several times a week). When you put in that kind of effort and dedication you will find that you still have that interest and desire in the goal, you will maintain focus and then you will find that soon your goal will come to pass! Something that may never happen if you are inconsistently consistent.

 

 

Leave a Reply

